Enhancing vaccine confidence across ethnic minority communities

A co-produced research study that combines research, evidence and lived experience to understand and improve vaccine uptake in ethnic minority communities

shutterstock_585472907.jpg

Do you want to learn more about the factors that influence vaccine uptake and the strategies that can improve vaccine confidence? 

Using trusted messengers to encourage vaccine uptake may be a useful strategy to increase uptake in communities with low vaccination rates.

A lack of trust in the organisations and individuals encouraging vaccine uptake impacts vaccine uptake across many ethnic minority communities.

People are less likely to accept the offer of vaccination if little culturally and linguistically appropriate information is available to them, especially when their concerns are not covered.

Icons-01.png
Icons-02.png
Icons-03.png

Below are some of the highlights of the report:

The Collaboration for Change represents two UK universities, nine community organisations and two small and medium size enterprises, who, in a collective effort, have conducted research on how to improve vaccine uptake among ethnic minority groups.

Uptake of the COVID-19 vaccine varies widely across communities, and the collaboration have been working to help identify the reasons behind these variations, with the aim to ultimately increase vaccine uptake. The methodology included two rapid literature reviews followed by a series of decision making frameworks to bring in the ‘true to life’ perspectives from community organisations. 

 A summary report is now available which highlights the critical factors that impact vaccine uptake, and provides recommendations on how to increase uptake across ethnic minority groups. 

Project Partners

 

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Press and Media Enquiries

 

Please use the contact details below to get in touch with our team if you’re a journalist with an enquiry or interview request.

Egality Health

Ria Sunga, Research and Community Engagement

Email: ria@egality.health

North England

Manchester BME
Network CIC

Davine Forde, Associate, Manchester BME Network CIC,

Email: davine@manchesterbmenetwork.co.uk

Caribbean & African Health Network in Greater Manchester

Charles Kwaku-Odoi, Chief Officer (CAHN),

Email: charlesk@cahn.org.uk

Ethnic Health Forum
(Manchester)

Hanif Bobat, Development Manager

Email: hanif@ethnichealth.org.uk   

Rotherham Ethnic Communities Network (Yorkshire)

Azizzum Akhtar, Chief Executive

Email: aakhtar@rema-online.org.uk   

Midlands

South Asian Health Action
(Leicester)

Kirit Mistry, Chairman and Founder

Email: southasianhealthaction@gmail.com
Mobile: 07940516666

COUCH Health

Ash Rishi, CEO and Co-Founder

Email: ash@couchhealth.co

South England

Social Action for Health
(London)

Ceri Durham, Interim CEO, Social Action for Health

Email: cerid@safh.org.uk 

Ipswich and Suffolk Council
for Racial Equality

Phanuel Mutumburi, Business and Operations Director

Email: phanuel@iscre.org.uk   

Kanlungan Filipino
Consortium

Susan Cueva, Trustee

Email: susancueva@kanlungan.org.uk; Mobile: 07397796238 

UCL Institute of Education,
University College London 

Talia Isaacs

Email: talia.isaacs@ucl.ac.uk 

Scotland

University of
Aberdeen

Shaun Treweek, Professor of Health Services Research

Email: streweek@mac.com

REACH Community Health
Project (SCIO) (Glasgow)

Shabir Banday, Director

Email: shabir@reachhealth.org.uk

Press Release